what's happening

2021-2022 Advisory Board Meets at the Children's Museum of St. Tammany
Gillian Rabalais
/ Categories: What's Happening

2021-2022 Advisory Board Meets at the Children's Museum of St. Tammany

The Board of Trustees and Staff welcomed the 2021-2022 Advisory Board to the museum on Wednesday. It was the first time that the group was able to gather in person for a full round table discussion, review, and update on future goals and planning.

Updates were presented by President Leslie Martin and Past President Lisa Barnett as well as an operational overview by Christy Sanders Myers, Ph.D., Chief Operating Officer. The museum’s educational programming review and calendar were presented by Gillian Rabalais, Director of Education and Programming. The presentations included both the 2020 and 2021 Years in Review and the challenges and achievements made by the museum during the last year despite the temporary closure and pivot to a virtual to timed admission and limited capacity due to the Covid-19 regulations.

Also, recognized for their outstanding service to the Museum were Albert Aparicio, Phyllis Escandell Distefano and Antonio LeMon who have completed their terms on the Board of Trustees and each will move onto the Advisory Board.

It was a great day for the museum. Excitement is the air at CMST!

Children’s Museum of St. Tammany 2021-2022 Advisory Board
Bruce Anzalone, Our Lady of the Lake Physician Group/CMST Founder
Tom Bergeon, New Orleans Geological Society
Mary Leigh C. Cassidy, Ballard Brands
JoAnne Champagne, Founder, Junior League of Greater Covington
President Mike Cooper, St. Tammany Parish Government
Karin Lorenz Crosby, Realtor, Latter & Blum, Inc.
Phyllis Distefano, Junior League of Greater Covington/CMST Founder
Andy Elliott, CheckPoint Pumps & Systems
Sharon Flanigan Ph.D., Retired Educator
Robert Fonte, Sam’s Club #4874
Jack Francioni, Coastal Environmental Services
Sandy Franco, Franco’s Athletic Club
Trey Folse, Louisiana Department of Education
Stacy Garcia, Junior League of Greater Covington
Kim Gardner, St. Tammany Parish Public Schools
Gwen Guernsey, Ochsner Health
Jules Guste, Chevron/CMST Founder
Roslyn Hanson, St. Tammany Parish Public Schools
Kristi Hart, Archaeologist/CMST Founder
Superintendent Frank Jabbia, St. Tammany Parish Public Schools
Mayor Mark Johnson, City of Covington
Dr. Josh and Josie LeBlanc, LeBlanc Pediatrics
Susan Lenoir, Junior League of Greater Covington
Mayor Clay Madden, City of Mandeville
Vanessa Mayfield, CMST Founder
Senator Patrick McMath, McMath Construction/Louisiana Senate
Shane Mutter, Seed2System
GrayHawk Perkins, Native American Historian/Teacher
Robin Leckbee Perkins, St. Tammany Parish Archivist
Sheriff Randy Smith, St. Tammany Parish Sheriff’s Office
Sharon Toups, St. Tammany Parish Health
Todd Whalley, St. Tammany Corporation
Shelley Pace Winstead, Junior League of Greater Covington

For a complete listing of our Museum leadership, or if you would like to get involved with the Children’s Museum, please visit

Previous Article Chalk Fest Returns to the Children's Museum of St. Tammany
Next Article Meet our Summer Intern, Alyssa!